Newbie- Visiting the space?

Hi,
my name is Jon, I’m a member of TAMI hackerspace in Tel Aviv.
I found Decentrala through Hackerspace Wiki, I’d love to come visit sometime if it’s cool. :slight_smile:

I’m not very knowledgeable in decentralized tech, but my day job is as a Unity/VR developer. I also do some immersive art stuff (esp32/WLED/simple PCB design).
Maybe I can even do an (English language) leds or Unity workshop sometime if people are interested.

Mostly looking to meet cool people and perhaps find a place to hack on some side projects.

Looking forward to meeting you all!

5 Likes

Hi Jon!

We would love to meet you when you come and visit. We mostly have events on mondays and tuesdays at DC Krov from 19h. You can come anytime :slight_smile:

We only show programs that are free and open source, other than that, there are no real requirements. Workshops don’t even have to be IT based, as long as no proprietary services are involved.If you want to show Godot or some other free and open source game engine, we would really love that.

Looking forward to meeting you soon as well :slight_smile:

Great, thanks!

I don’t know Godot unfortunately, but I do use WLED quite often which I’d be happy to demo if anyone is interested.
It’s an awesome FOSS platform for controlling addressable LEDs from Esp32s/8266’.

Also brought a DIY oscilloscope kit which could be cool to assemble if theres a soldering bench which is OK to use :smiley:

Is the space generally open for visitors in certain days/times, or only when events are scheduled?

Hello Jon,
I think there arepeople interested in WLED.

Decentrala’s events are usually held on Monday and Tuesday evenings at social club Krov. I think Krov have events during whole week. So, you can come to the Krov any evening, but you will find the Decentrala members only at the start of week (: